Thursday, August 11, 2016


2012 - Roshan Singh win the 2012 National Closed  which conclude on 27th - 31st  May  2012 at DATCC, Kuala Lumpur. Roshan is the  30th National Master (NM). In the women section,  Nur Najiha Azman Hisham is the new champion. She is  the 13th National Women Master (NWM).

2012- Malaysia participated at The 40th Chess Olympiad 2012 in Istanbul, Turkey.

Men Category 

Players : 1.IM Mok Tze Meng, 2.IM Lim Yee Weng, 3. Yeoh Li Tian, 4.IM Jimmy Liew 5. NM Lim Zhuo Ren

Seeded :86th . Placing : 64/ 157

Women Category

Players : 1.WFM Nur Najiha Azman Hisham, 2.WCM Nur Nabila Azman Hisham, 3.WCM Fong Mi Yen, 4.NWM Tan Li Ting, 5.Camilia Johari

Seeded : 83rd.   Placing : 61 /127

2012 - IM Mok Tze Meng create a history in Malaysian chess by beating Dutch GM -  Loek Van Wely rating elo 2690 in the first round of the 2012 Olympiad, Turkey . This is  the strongest ever player beaten by a Malaysian player. Previously the record was held by IM Mashafizul who beat GM Ian Rogers (2618) in Saintly Cup 1999 and GM Victor Korchnoi (2607) in Olympiad Turin 2006.

2012 - 30th  September 2012 - Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur win the 2012 chess team event at the Kejohanan Catur, Dart dan Karom,  Majlis Sukan dan Kebajikan Anggota-Anggota Kerajaan (MAKSAK) held from 27th - 30th September 2012 at  Bilik Tanjung, Dewan Sri Pinang, Lebuh Light, Pulau Pinang . This year event is host by Pulau Pinang. 

Kuala Lumpur repeat their last two years victory and by doing so they create history by winning it three time in a row ( 2010, 2011 and 2012). Second to fourth place is  won by Terengganu (2nd) , Johor (3rd) and  Sarawak (4th).

Read the report here

No comments:

Post a Comment