Thursday, August 11, 2016


2006 Jonathan Chuah (Man category) from Penang won the National Closed Championship. WFM Siti Zulaikha Foudzi won the women section. She is the longest holder of the NWM title with a record of 8 consecutive years.

2006 - Malaysia participated at The 37th Chess Olympiad 2006 in Turin, Italy.

Men Category 

Players : 1.Mashafizulhelmi,2.Mok Tze Meng,3.Lim Yee Weng,4.Jonathan Chuah,5.Anas Nazreen Bakri

Seeded : . Placing : 80/ 147

Women Category

Players : 1.WFM Siti, Zulaikha ,2.Wan Khye Theng ,3.WCM Nur Shazwani, Zullkafli ,4.Roslina, Marmono

Seeded :  Placing : 44 /103

2006 Universiti Teknologi Petronas (UTP) Tronoh, Perak break Malaysian Book of Records for organizing a chess tournament which was involved 960 participants!

2006 - Kuala Lumpur win 2006 Majlis Sukan dan Kebajikan Anggota- Anggota Kerajaan (MAKSAK). Runners up goes to ?????. The team event was held in Kuala Lumpur.

2006 Asean Chess Academy(ACA) Opens Its First Branch in Malaysia in 22 Oct 2006

Asean Chess Academy Pte Ltd has opened its first regional branch, in Malaysia. Managed by Intchess (M) Sdn Bhd, the branch premises was open in November at No. 22-1 (1st Floor), Jalan 27/70A, Desa Sri Hartamas, Kuala Lumpur. Enquiries to Mr Peter Long . Trainers available there are: FT, IA Nguyen Tan Tung (Vietnam) - now seconded to Laos Chess Federation, FI, FM Geldyev, Kochmurad (Turkmenistan) - now seconded to Korea Chess Association, IM Gwaze, Robert (Zimbabwe) and FM Long, Peter (Malaysia).2006 Dato' Tan Chin Nam was persuaded to step back into the picture as MCF’s interim president to fill a position left vacant by the then incumbent who did not wish to be re-elected. But Tan made it very clear that the MCF would have to find a new president when his own two-year term expired. 

2006 - The 3rd Malaysian Chess Festival 2006 was held in the CitiTel Midvalley and MidValley Megamall , Kuala Lumpur.  The festival involve 4 different competitions -

(i) 3rd Dato' Arthur Tan Malaysian Open Chess Championship;  (Champion - GM Dao Tien Hai- Vietnam )
(ii) 26th ASTRO-IGB Merdeka Team Championship; (Champion -Tagaytay City - Philippines)
(iii) Ambank Group Chess Challange ; (Champion -Truman Hernaez - Philippines)  and 
(iv) Malaysian Blitz Open ; (Champion - ?  )

No comments:

Post a Comment