Thursday, August 11, 2016



2007 Zarul Shazwan Zulkafli (man Category) from Persatuan Catur Malaysia (PCMM) won the National Closed Championship held at Banquet Hall, Universiti sains malaysia, Penang from 27th -31st May 2007. His younger sister NWM Nurshazwani won the women section held later on September 2007 at Citi Tel Midvalley. They repeat the record of sibling winning the National champion title for both the Men and Women's title in the same year as NM Kamal Ariffin and NWM Nurul Huda Wahiduddin did in the National Closed 1991.

2007 - Terengganu win 2007 Majlis Sukan dan Kebajikan Anggota- Anggota Kerajaan (MAKSAK). Runners up goes to Perlis. The team event was host by PENJARA and held in Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan.

Mashafizul won Bronze medal in 2007 Asian Indoor Games (Classical) in Macau, China.
2007 - IM Mashaizul Helmi and WIM Siti Zulaika Foudzi win bronze medal in the 2007 ASIAN Indoor Games (Classical) in Macau.
2007 Quah Seng-Sun had written about chess in The Star newspaper in Malaysia since Aug 1980. The Star cancel this collumn in 2007.

2007 On June 17, 2007 within the framework of events devoted to the 40th Anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations between the Russian Federation and Malaysia the Embassy of Russia in Malaysia and the Russian Centre of Science and Culture (RCSC) in Kuala Lumpur organized the Open Chess Tournament.

This event gathered together the Russian Embassy staff, “Russian Club” members to the RCSC, Malaysian top chess players, and traditional participants of regional and national tournaments. Among them were a former chess champion of Malaysia, a chess international master, two FIDE masters and others, total 26 participants.

source :

2007 - The 4thMalaysian Chess Festival 2007 was held in MidValley, Kuala Lumpur. The festival has different competitions -

(i) 4th Dato' Arthur Tan Malaysian Open Chess Championship; (Champion - Li Chao - China)
(ii) 27th ASTRO-Merdeka Team Championship (Rapid)- (Champion -Apocalypse Manila - Philippines)
(iii) 25th ASTRO-Merdeka Standard Team Championship - (Champion -ASTRO ); and
(iv) 2nd Ambank Chess Challange ; (Champion -Cantonjos Allan O.- Philippines)

2007 Merdeka Team Tournaments been held for the 27th times in Kuala Lumpur. Actually the tournaments is part of the Malaysia Chess Festival 2007 which consist 5 tournamants. 1. 4th Dato’ AT Malaysian Open 2. AmBank Chess Challenge 3. National Women 2007 4.ASTRO Merdeka Rapid Team event5. ASTRO Merdeka Standard Team event

No comments:

Post a Comment