Monday, January 3, 2011


1989 - Kamal Abdullah (Johor) won the National Championship (Man) Christi Hon holds the record of being the only player to have won the (men) National Master four (4) times. 1990 final world championship candidates' match betweeen Anatoly Karpov (USSR) and Jan Timman(Holland) in Kuala Lumpur 8-26 Mac 2007 . Jan Timman, of the Netherlands, and Karpov, a former champion from the Soviet Union, are playing for a prize of just over $124,000 and the right to challenge the current champion, Gary Kasparov of the Soviet Union, next fall. The loser's share for the 12-game series will be just over $74,000. The sponsor of the 12-game series is a consortium of the Malaysian Tourist Development Corporation, Petronas, Malaysian Airlines, the Micasa Hotel Apartments, the Ming Court Hotel, Ederan Automobile National (EON) and Syarikat Telecom. The match won by Anatoly Karpov.

No comments:

Post a Comment